Merchant Affiliate Program

Support Forum
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 6:15 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Login Form
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 10:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 9:48 am
Posts: 3
Hello,

I want to post the login form on my site's home page--however, my home page has a different URL than the rest of my site (shopping cart).

I pasted the HTML for the form on my home page, and when I test "create new registry", I get a pop-up window that is blank. Behind the window is the correct page for people to create their registry.

What is supposed to be on the pop-up window?
Do the 2 different URL's on my site cause a problem?

Here is where my login form is:
http://kangaroodle.com/index.php?option ... &Itemid=83

Thank you,
Shelly


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:16 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 3:56 pm
Posts: 114
When you added the Login code to your site, it looks like your CMS is HTML encoding the code.

For example, this is what a snippet of code looks like on your site:

<input onclick="window.open(&quot;&quot;,&quot;MGL&quot;,&quot;width=700,height=400,top=60,left=100,resizable,scrollbars&quot;);" type="submit" value="Login" />

It should look like this:

<input onclick="window.open('MGL','width=700,height=400,top=60,left=100,resizable,scrollbars');" type="submit" value="Login" />

Do you have way of pasting the code straight into the source of your site so that that the CMS does not HTML encode it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 12:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 9:48 am
Posts: 3
Unfortunately, when I copy and paste the HTML from the code I'm given on your site, into my software, it automatically encodes it. I don't know how else to do it--is there any other work-around?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: What CMS are you using?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:48 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 3:56 pm
Posts: 114
What CMS are you using?

Most of them have an icon where you can edit the HTML source directly. You can paste the Add to MyGiftList code there and it should work correctly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 9:48 am
Posts: 3
I'm using Joomla and that's exactly what I'm doing---going into the HTML edit area and pasting the code in directly. However, it is automatically changing it once it's saved.

On a different topic,
I use Joomla for my home page (and some related pages) only...and X-Cart for my shopping cart. As mentioned before, my home page is a different URL from my shopping cart pages. Do you foresee this being a problem with my gift list?

I am considering upgrading to the pay per month version, where it is seamless within my site...but I want to make sure it's all going to work first.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 11:30 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 3:56 pm
Posts: 114
Hi, This is a known problem with Joomla. You may want to upgrade to the latest version or you can make some changes to the HTML Editor that Joomla is using. If you are using TinyMCE:

Go to Extensions->Plug-ins
Click on Editor - TinyMCE 2.0
Set the following:

- Code Cleanup on Startup = No
- Code cleanup on save = Never
- Do not clean HTML entities=Yes
- Prohibited Elements = DELETE EVERYTHING THERE

It should not be a problem to use Joomla for your website and X-Cart for your cart.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group